SPRING Problem Statement and Requirements
draft-ietf-spring-problem-statement-01

The information below is for an old version of the document
Document Type None Internet-Draft (spring WG)
Last updated 2014-06-26
Replaces draft-previdi-spring-problem-statement
Stream IETF
Intended RFC status Informational
Formats
Expired & archived
pdf htmlized bibtex
Reviews
Additional URLs
- Mailing list discussion
Stream WG state (None)
Document shepherd None
IESG IESG state Unknown state
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-ietf-spring-problem-statement-01.txt

Abstract

The ability for a node to specify a forwarding path, other than the normal shortest path, that a particular packet will traverse, benefits a number of network functions. Source-based routing mechanisms have previously been specified for network protocols, but have not seen widespread adoption. In this context, the term 'source' means 'the point at which the explicit route is imposed'. This document outlines various use cases, with their requirements, that need to be taken into account by the Source Packet Routing in Networking (SPRING) architecture for unicast traffic. Multicast use- cases and requirements are out of scope of this document.

Authors

Stefano Previdi (sprevidi@cisco.com)
Clarence Filsfils (cfilsfil@cisco.com)
Bruno Decraene (bruno.decraene@orange.com)
Stephane Litkowski (stephane.litkowski@orange.com)
Martin Horneffer (Martin.Horneffer@telekom.de)
Ruediger Geib (Ruediger.Geib@telekom.de)
Rob Shakir (rob.shakir@bt.com)
Robert Raszuk (robert@raszuk.net)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)