Service Function Chaining (SFC) General Use Cases
draft-liu-sfc-use-cases-08

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (individual)
Last updated 2015-03-23 (latest revision 2014-09-17)
Replaces draft-liu-service-chaining-use-cases
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Expired
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-liu-sfc-use-cases-08.txt

Abstract

The delivery of value-added services relies on the invocation of advanced Service Functions in a sequential order. This mechanism is called Service Function Chaining (SFC). The set of involved Service Functions and their order depends on the service context and other deployment-specific considerations. Having a single use case document eases the effort of deriving requirements that are to be met by SFC solution(s). Moreover, it allows to identify commonalities between the various use cases that are of interest. This document presents a set of general use cases of Service Function Chaining (SFC).

Authors

Will LIU (liushucheng@huawei.com)
Hongyu Li (hongyu.li@huawei.com)
Oliver Huang (oliver.huang@huawei.com)
Mohamed Boucadair (mohamed.boucadair@orange.com)
Nicolai Leymann (n.leymann@telekom.de)
Fu Qiao (fuqiao@chinamobile.com)
Qiong Sun (sunqiong@ctbri.com.cn)
Chuong Pham (chuong.d.pham@team.telstra.com)
Changcheng Huang (huang@sce.carleton.ca)
Jiafeng Zhu (jiafeng.zhu@huawei.com)
Peng He (phe@ciena.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)