Link Management Protocol (LMP)
draft-lang-mpls-lmp-02

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (individual)
Last updated 2000-11-30
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Expired
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-lang-mpls-lmp-02.txt

Abstract

Future networks will consist of photonic switches, optical crossconnects, and routers that may be configured with bundled links consisting of a number of user component links and an associated control channel. This draft specifies a link management protocol (LMP) that runs between neighboring nodes and will be used for both link provisioning and fault isolation. A unique feature of LMP is that it is able to isolate faults in both opaque and transparent networks, independent of the encoding scheme used for the component links. LMP will be used to maintain control channel connectivity, verify component link connectivity, and isolate link, fiber, or channel failures within the network.

Authors

Jonathan Lang (jplang@calient.net)
Jonathan Lang (jplang@calient.net)
John Drake (drake@fore.com)
Kireeti Kompella (kireeti@juniper.net)
Yakov Rekhter (yakov@juniper.net)
Lou Berger (lberger@labn.net)
Debanjan Saha (dsaha@tellium.com)
Debashis Basak (dbasak@fore.com)
Hal Sandick (hsandick@nortelnetworks.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)