Session Initiation Protocol Call Flow Examples
draft-ietf-sipping-call-flows-01

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (sipping WG)
Last updated 2002-08-01
Stream IETF
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Stream WG state WG Document
Document shepherd No shepherd assigned
IESG IESG state Expired
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-ietf-sipping-call-flows-01.txt

Abstract

This informational document gives examples of Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) call flows. Elements in these call flows include SIP User Agents and Clients, SIP Proxy and Redirect Servers, and Gateways to the PSTN (Public Switch Telephone Network). Scenarios include SIP Registration, SIP to SIP calling, SIP to Gateway, Gateway to SIP, and Gateway to Gateway via SIP. Call flow diagrams and message details are shown. PSTN telephony protocols are illustrated using ISDN (Integrated Services Digital Network), ANSI ISUP (ISDN User Part), and FGB (Feature Group B) circuit associated signaling. PSTN calls are illustrated using global telephone numbers from the PSTN and private extensions served on by a PBX (Private Branch Exchange). Example SIP messages used for testing during SIP interoperability test events include SIP 'torture test' messages, and messages with invalid parameters, methods, and tags.

Authors

Chris Cunningham (ccunningham@dynamicsoft.com)
Jonathan Rosenberg (jdrosen@dynamicsoft.com)
Steve Donovan (sdonovan@dynamicsoft.com)
Alan Johnston (alan.johnston@wcom.com)
Henning Schulzrinne (schulzrinne@cs.columbia.edu)
Robert Sparks (rsparks@dynamicsoft.com)
Kevin Summers (kevin.summers@sonusnet.com)
Dean Willis (dwillis@dynamicsoft.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)