Liaison statement
YANG data model for bulk data collection using IPFIX

State Posted
Submitted Date 2020-10-27
From Group BROADBAND-FORUM
From Contact Lincoln Lavoie
To Groups OPS, opsawg
To Contacts Warren Kumari
Robert Wilton
Henk Birkholz
Joe Clarke
Tianran Zhou
CcWarren Kumari
Tianran Zhou
Joe Clarke
The IETF Chair
Robert Wilton
Dave Sinicrope
Operations and Management Area Working Group Discussion List
Henk Birkholz
Liaisons at Broadband Forum
Statements at IETF
Robin Mersh
April Nowicki
Joey Boyd
Sven Ooghe
David Sinicrope
Response Contact david.sinicrope@gmail.com
Purpose For information
Attachments LIAISE-420-02
Body
The Broadband Forum is interested in utilizing the IPFIX protocol to support
bulk data collection within its Access Node specifications. As part of these
efforts, the Broadband Forum previously reviewed the current YANG data models
available for IPFIX / Packet Sampling, specified in RFC 6728.

The Broadband Forum is aware of IETF
draft-boydseda-ipfix-psamp-bulk-data-yang-model which defines a YANG model for
packet sampling (PSAMP) and bulk data collection and export via IPFIX. This
model conforms to the Network Management Datastore Architecture (NMDA) defined
in RFC 8342 and replaces the model defined in RFC 6728.

We would like to inform the IETF that the Broadband Forum intends to make
normative reference to this document as an integral part of its specifications.
To that end it would be advantageous for the document to be pursued as a
Standards Track document.

Specifically, it is our intention to normatively reference this in future
revisions of the following BBF technical specifications: •       TR-301 –
Architecture and Requirements for Fiber to the Distribution Point •      
TR-352 - Multi-wavelength PON Inter-Channel-Termination Protocol (ICTP)
Specification •       TR-413 - SDN Management and Control Interfaces for
CloudCO Network Functions

As such there is a strong desire to see it progress through the IETF process to
RFC.

Your consideration is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,
Lincoln Lavoie,
Broadband Forum Technical Committee Chair

CC:
Liaisons at Broadband Forum <liaisons@broadband-forum.org>
Statements at IETF <statements@ietf.org>
Robin Mersh, Broadband Forum CEO <rmersh@broadband-forum.org>
April Nowicki, Broadband Forum Member Support Manager
<anowicki@broadband-forum.org> Joey Boyd, Broadband Forum Common YANG Work Area
Director <joey.boyd@adtran.com> Sven Ooghe, Broadband Forum Common YANG Work
Area Director <sven.ooghe@nokia.com> David Sinicrope, IETF Liaison Manager to
BBF <david.sinicrope@ericsson.com>

Broadband Forum Reference:
LIAISE-420

Date of Upcoming Broadband Forum Meetings
A list of upcoming meetings can be found at
https://www.broadband-forum.org/news-events/meetings/upcoming-bbf-meetings