Label Switching: Label Stack Encodings
draft-rosen-tag-stack-05

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (individual)
Last updated 1997-08-21 (latest revision 1997-08-25)
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Expired
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-rosen-tag-stack-05.txt

Abstract

'Multi-Protocol Label Switching (MPLS)' [1,2,9] requires a set of procedures for augmenting network layer packets with 'label stacks' (sometimes called 'tag stacks'), thereby turning them into 'labeled packets'. Routers which support MPLS are known as 'Label Switching Routers', or 'LSRs'. In order to transmit a labeled packet on a particular data link, an LSR must support an encoding technique which, given a label stack and a network layer packet, produces a labeled packet. This document specifies the encoding to be used by an LSR in order to transmit labeled packets on PPP data links and on LAN data links. This document also specifies rules and procedures for processing the various fields of the label stack encoding.

Authors

Dino Farinacci (dino@cisco.com)
Tony Li (tli@cisco.com)
Alex Conta (aconta@lucent.com)
Yakov Rekhter (yakov@juniper.net)
Dan Tappan (tappan@cisco.com)
Eric Rosen (erosen@cisco.com)
Guy Fedorkow (fedorkow@cisco.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)