Protocol Independent Multicast - Sparse Mode (PIM-SM): Protocol Specification (Revised)
draft-ietf-pim-rfc4601bis-02

The information below is for an old version of the document
Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (pim WG)
Last updated 2014-04-20 (latest revision 2013-10-17)
Replaces draft-parekh-pim-rfc4601bis
Stream IETF
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
pdf htmlized bibtex
Reviews
Stream WG state WG Document
Document shepherd None
IESG IESG state Expired
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-ietf-pim-rfc4601bis-02.txt

Abstract

This document specifies Protocol Independent Multicast - Sparse Mode (PIM-SM). PIM-SM is a multicast routing protocol that can use the underlying unicast routing information base or a separate multicast- capable routing information base. It builds unidirectional shared trees rooted at a Rendezvous Point (RP) per group, and optionally creates shortest-path trees per source. This document addresses errata filed against RFC 4601, and removes the optional (*,*,RP) feature that lacks sufficient deployment experience.

Authors

Bill Fenner (fenner@research.att.com)
Mark Handley (m.handley@cs.ucl.ac.uk)
Hugh Holbrook (holbrook@arastra.com)
Isidor Kouvelas (kouvelas@cisco.com)
Rishabh Parekh (riparekh@cisco.com)
Zhaohui Zhang (zzhang@juniper.net)
Lianshu Zheng (verozheng@huawei.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)