Lossless Path MTU Discovery (PMTUD)
draft-bonica-intarea-lossless-pmtud-01

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (individual)
Last updated 2020-05-03 (latest revision 2019-10-31)
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
pdf htmlized (tools) htmlized bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Expired
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-bonica-intarea-lossless-pmtud-01.txt

Abstract

This document describes alternative IPv4 PMTUD procedures that do not prevent IP fragmentation and do no rely on the network's ability to deliver ICMP Destination Unreachable messages to the source node. This document also defines a new ICMP message. IPv4 nodes emit this new message when they reassemble a fragmented packet.

Authors

Ron Bonica (rbonica@juniper.net)
Manoj Nayak (manojnayak@juniper.net)
Bradely Newton (bnewton@hmc.edu)
Hakan Alpan (halpan@hnc.edu)
Radon Rosborough (rrosborough@hmc.edu)
Miles President (mpresident@hmc.edu)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)