Liaison statement
draft-allan-5g-fmc-encapsulation

State Posted
Submitted Date 2020-09-01
From Group BROADBAND-FORUM
From Contact Lincoln Lavoie
To Group IESG
To Contacts The IESG
CcThe IETF Chair
Dave Sinicrope
The IESG
ek.ietf@gmail.com
Liaisons at Broadband Forum
Statements at IETF
Robin Mersh
April Nowicki
David Allan
David Sinicrope
Response Contact david.sinicrope@ericsson.com
Purpose For information
Attachments bbf-liaise-415-ietf-04
Body
Dear colleagues,

We would like to draw your attention to the above mentioned internet draft
currently progressing on the AD sponsored track in the IETF Internet Area.

This draft is an important part of BBF’s wireless wireline convergence efforts.
It provides a means of efficiently encoding 5G metadata in user traffic in a
format that will be relayed by deployed access equipment without modification.
The actual solution was the result of extensive deliberations and a polling of
the vendor community to validate tractability.

It is our intention to normatively reference this draft in the following
soon-to-be-published BBF technical specifications:
   - TR-124i6 Functional Requirements for Broadband Residential Gateway Devices
   - TR-456 AGF Functional Requirements
   - TR-181i2a14 Device Data Model
And as an informative one in:
   - TR-470 5G WWC Architecture

As such there is a strong desire to see it progress through the IETF process to
RFC. We are continuing to develop specifications for wireless wireline
convergence, and will formally advise the IETF via liaison of any work
impacting the IETF.

Your consideration is greatly appreciated.
Sincerely,

Lincoln Lavoie,
Broadband Forum Technical Committee Chair

CC:
Liaisons at Broadband Forum <liaisons@broadband-forum.org>
Statements at IETF <statements@ietf.org>
Robin Mersh, Broadband Forum CEO <rmersh@broadband-forum.org>
April Nowicki, Broadband Forum Member Support Manager
<anowicki@broadband-forum.org> David Allan, Broadband Forum WWC Work Area
Director <david.i.allan@ericsson.com> David Sinicrope, IETF Liaison Manager to
BBF <david.sinicrope@ericsson.com>

Broadband Forum Reference:
LIAISE-415

Date of Upcoming Broadband Forum Meetings
A list of upcoming meetings can be found at
https://www.broadband-forum.org/newsevents/ meetings/upcoming-bbf-meetings