Rapid Commit Option for the Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol version 4 (DHCPv4)
RFC 4039

Note: This ballot was opened for revision 05 and is now closed.

(Margaret Cullen) Yes

(Harald Alvestrand) No Objection

Comment (2004-10-28)
No email
send info
I do wonder about whether saving these 2 messages will really save any time.

Reviewed by Spencer Dawkins, Gen-ART

His review:

I'm reviewing this specification as a Working Group Submission for
Proposed Standard.

This document is mostly ready to go. I didn't even see nits. It's
well-written and explains its motivation clearly.

I have one comment - the example given in Figure 1 shows what happens
when you have two DHCP servers on a subnet, but only one of them
supports Rapid Commit. It would be really nice to have a second short
discussion that shows the same flow when both servers support Rapid
Commit. I THINK I know what's supposed to happen, based on side
comments in the discussion of Figure 1, and I even think that what's
supposed to happen would actually work, but it would be clearer if
this was broken out separately.

This is a nice short document, so I'll be a good sport and point out
that it makes sense to delete the discussion of "one server on a

The discussion on "one server on a subnet" in this draft seems to be
skating along the edge of "wireless topology = IP subnet topology",
and this isn't true in the general case, except by accident. If
there's any part of this solution that relies on "one server on a
subnet", that's bad, because it will break the second you have
multipath reflection from another subnet, and it will also break the
second someone plugs in another router without wondering if there's
already a Rapid Commit router plugged in.

I don't THINK this will happen, but that's because the protocol
specified is safe whether or not the router is the only one on the
subnet or not.

(Steven Bellovin) No Objection

Comment (2004-10-28)
No email
send info

(Bill Fenner) No Objection

(Ted Hardie) No Objection

(Scott Hollenbeck) No Objection

(Russ Housley) No Objection

(David Kessens) No Objection

(Allison Mankin) No Objection

(Thomas Narten) No Objection

(Jon Peterson) No Objection

(Bert Wijnen) No Objection

(Alex Zinin) No Objection