Last Call Review of draft-ietf-v6ops-64share-09
review-ietf-v6ops-64share-09-genart-lc-campbell-2014-03-21-00

Request Review of draft-ietf-v6ops-64share
Requested rev. no specific revision (document currently at 10)
Type Last Call Review
Team General Area Review Team (Gen-ART) (genart)
Deadline 2014-02-21
Requested 2014-02-07
Authors Cameron Byrne, Dan Drown, Vizdal Ales
Draft last updated 2014-03-21
Completed reviews Genart Last Call review of -09 by Ben Campbell (diff)
Secdir Last Call review of -09 by Yaron Sheffer (diff)
Opsdir Last Call review of -09 by Victor Kuarsingh (diff)
Assignment Reviewer Ben Campbell
State Completed
Review review-ietf-v6ops-64share-09-genart-lc-campbell-2014-03-21
Reviewed rev. 09 (document currently at 10)
Review result Ready with Nits
Review completed: 2014-03-21

Review
review-ietf-v6ops-64share-09-genart-lc-campbell-2014-03-21

I am the assigned Gen-ART reviewer for this draft. For background on
Gen-ART, please see the FAQ at
< 

http://wiki.tools.ietf.org/area/gen/trac/wiki/GenArtfaq>.

Please wait for direction from your document shepherd
or AD before posting a new version of the draft.

Document: draft-ietf-v6ops-64share-09
Reviewer: Ben Campbell
Review Date: 2014-03-21
IETF LC End Date: long time ago
IESG Telechat date: 2014-03-27

Note: I somehow missed this assignment at last call time. Therefore this review serves as both a last call and an IESG telechat review.

Summary: This draft is mostly ready for publication as an informational RFC. I have a few editorial comments that might be worth considering prior to publication.

Major issues: None

Minor issues: None

Nits/editorial comments:

-- Section 1, paragraph 1:

Can you elaborate on what it means to "extend" The prefix to a LAN link? Are we talking about routing IPv6 traffic from other local devices (on the LAN) across the 3gpp link, for example, like one might do when tethering devices to a phone or mobile hotspot?
Can you offer a reference for "the 3GPP specification"?

Can you offer a reference for "the 3GPP specification"?

-- paragraph 2: "This can be achieved by receiving the Router Advertisement (RA) [RFC4861] announced globally unique /64 IPv6 prefix from the 3GPP radio interface and then advertising"

What does these things. The UE?

Please expand RA on first mention.

-- section 3, R-1:

Please expand SLAAC on first use.

-- section 4.2, 1st paragraph: "The 3GPP RA /64 prefix information is used to configure NDP on the LAN and assigns itself an address on the LAN link."

The prefix information assigns itself an address? I don't think that's what you mean to say.

-- section 4.2, step 7:

Please expand DAD on first use.