Last Call Review of draft-ietf-lisp-rfc6833bis-13
review-ietf-lisp-rfc6833bis-13-rtgdir-lc-hardwick-2018-09-09-00

Request Review of draft-ietf-lisp-rfc6833bis
Requested rev. no specific revision (document currently at 25)
Type Last Call Review
Team Routing Area Directorate (rtgdir)
Deadline 2018-08-31
Requested 2018-07-31
Requested by Deborah Brungard
Draft last updated 2018-09-09
Completed reviews Rtgdir Last Call review of -13 by Jonathan Hardwick (diff)
Secdir Last Call review of -12 by Takeshi Takahashi (diff)
Tsvart Last Call review of -13 by Colin Perkins (diff)
Genart Last Call review of -13 by Pete Resnick (diff)
Genart Telechat review of -15 by Pete Resnick (diff)
Genart Telechat review of -24 by Pete Resnick (diff)
Comments
Preparation for Last Call
Assignment Reviewer Jonathan Hardwick
State Completed
Review review-ietf-lisp-rfc6833bis-13-rtgdir-lc-hardwick-2018-09-09
Reviewed rev. 13 (document currently at 25)
Review result Ready
Review completed: 2018-09-09

Review
review-ietf-lisp-rfc6833bis-13-rtgdir-lc-hardwick-2018-09-09

Hi there

I have done a routing directorate review of this draft.
https://datatracker.ietf.org/doc/draft-ietf-lisp-rfc6833bis/?include_text=1

The Routing Directorate seeks to review all routing or routing-related drafts as they pass through IETF last call and IESG review, and sometimes on special request. The purpose of the review is to provide assistance to the Routing ADs. For more information about the Routing Directorate, please see ​http://trac.tools.ietf.org/area/rtg/trac/wiki/RtgDir

Although these comments are primarily for the use of the Routing ADs, it would be helpful if you could consider them along with any other IETF Last Call comments that you receive, and strive to resolve them through discussion or by updating the draft.

Document: draft-ietf-lisp-rfc6833bis-13
Reviewer: Jon Hardwick
Review Date: 7 Sep 2018
IETF LC End Date: 31 Aug 2018
Intended Status: Proposed Standard

Comments
This was my first foray into LISP, so I also read draft-ietf-lisp-rfc6830bis and draft-ietf-lisp-introduction as ramp-up.  I found all three documents to be very readable and useful.

I think this document is ready to be published.  I noted a few minor comments and questions as I read through it, below.

sec3: Map-Register contains “one or more RLOCs to reach ETR(s)”.  How do you deregister all RLOCs for an EID?

sec5: (Diagrams) It seems a bit redundant to specify the IPv4/6 and UDP header formats here.  Just refer to the RFCs.

sec5: “When a UDP Map-Reply Map-Notify”  <- insert comma

sec5.1: What about code point 7?  Not assigned?  Reserved?

sec6.1: “from those sites to which” should be “to those sites to which”

sec6.1: “for the last minute” is arbitrary and should be left to the implementation / deployment to decide IMO.

sec7.1: Have you considered using multi-hop BFD instead of RLOC probing?

Best regards
Jon