Last Call Review of draft-ietf-bess-dci-evpn-overlay-08
review-ietf-bess-dci-evpn-overlay-08-opsdir-lc-kuarsingh-2018-02-19-00

Request Review of draft-ietf-bess-dci-evpn-overlay
Requested rev. no specific revision (document currently at 10)
Type Last Call Review
Team Ops Directorate (opsdir)
Deadline 2018-02-09
Requested 2018-01-26
Draft last updated 2018-02-19
Completed reviews Rtgdir Telechat review of -08 by Sasha Vainshtein (diff)
Opsdir Last Call review of -08 by Victor Kuarsingh (diff)
Secdir Last Call review of -08 by Tero Kivinen (diff)
Genart Last Call review of -08 by Vijay Gurbani (diff)
Assignment Reviewer Victor Kuarsingh
State Completed
Review review-ietf-bess-dci-evpn-overlay-08-opsdir-lc-kuarsingh-2018-02-19
Reviewed rev. 08 (document currently at 10)
Review result Ready
Review completed: 2018-02-19

Review
review-ietf-bess-dci-evpn-overlay-08-opsdir-lc-kuarsingh-2018-02-19

Dear Authors,

I have reviewed this document as part of the Operational directorate's ongoing effort to review all IETF documents being processed by the IESG.  These comments were written with the intent of improving the operational aspects of the IETF drafts. Comments that are not addressed in last call may be included in AD reviews during the IESG review.  Document editors and WG chairs should treat these comments just like any other last call comments.

Document Reviewed - Interconnect Solution for EVPN Overlay networks
Link to Document - https://tools.ietf.org/html/draft-ietf-bess-dci-evpn-overlay-08

Summary:

This document specifies an interconnectivity model for between edge NVOs over a WAN.  The document outlines two basic models based on Gateway mediated connectivity described as the “Decoupled Interconnect Model”  and the “Integrated Interconnect Model”.

The document describes the functional companies of utilizing these two models and discusses extensions to EVPN including the “Interconnect Ethernet Segment (I-ES)”, the use of an “Unknown MAC route” and processing of routers over the interconnecting Gateways. ‘

This document extends functionality defined in “draft-ietf-bess-evpn-overlay” which is already submitted for publication as of January 2018.

General Comments and Feedback:

The document as reviewed is well written had has undergone considerable review.  Initial review was of -07 version, but review we re-done following -08 release.  I had a few feedback items, however following the RTG-DIR review (https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/rtg-dir/a5KxnhKgz0TLwZRy6EsibQsRSqs) published on Feb 14h, 2018, my more minor feedback points were already captured by Alexander Vainshtein’s review.

The only remaining (minor) item was the use cases by which the document applies with respect to reasoning to the use of models based on GWs vs. ASBRs was captured towards the end of the document (in Security Section).  This point was already made by Sasha in his review.

Operational considerations, of which my review was concentrated on, were well captured through the text.  I was particularity happy with in-line explanation of advantages and/or disadvantages to certain options/functions throughout the document (ex. Section 3.2 - VLAN Based hand-off).  Pointers to where key polices and functions can be implemented were captured to my satisfaction (when considering operational review).

No other comments and/or recommendations are made as part of this review.

regards,

Victor Kuarsingh