Multicast Source Redundancy in EVPN Networks
draft-skr-bess-evpn-redundant-mcast-source-02

Document Type Replaced Internet-Draft (candidate for bess WG)
Authors Jorge Rabadan  , Jayant Kotalwar  , Senthil Sathappan  , Zhaohui Zhang  , Wen Lin  , Eric Rosen 
Last updated 2020-12-01 (latest revision 2020-11-02)
Replaced by draft-ietf-bess-evpn-redundant-mcast-source
Stream Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
pdf htmlized bibtex
Stream WG state Call For Adoption By WG Issued
Document shepherd No shepherd assigned
IESG IESG state Replaced by draft-ietf-bess-evpn-redundant-mcast-source
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-skr-bess-evpn-redundant-mcast-source-02.txt

Abstract

EVPN supports intra and inter-subnet IP multicast forwarding. However, EVPN (or conventional IP multicast techniques for that matter) do not have a solution for the case where: a) a given multicast group carries more than one flow (i.e., more than one source), and b) it is desired that each receiver gets only one of the several flows. Existing multicast techniques assume there are no redundant sources sending the same flow to the same IP multicast group, and, in case there were redundant sources, the receiver's application would deal with the received duplicated packets. This document extends the existing EVPN specifications and assumes that IP Multicast source redundancy may exist. It also assumes that, in case two or more sources send the same IP Multicast flows into the tenant domain, the EVPN PEs need to avoid that the receivers get packet duplication by following the described procedures.

Authors

Jorge Rabadan (jorge.rabadan@nokia.com)
Jayant Kotalwar (jayant.kotalwar@nokia.com)
Senthil Sathappan (senthil.sathappan@nokia.com)
Zhaohui Zhang (zzhang@juniper.net)
Wen Lin (wlin@juniper.net)
Eric Rosen (erosen52@gmail.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)