ICN Baseline Scenarios and Evaluation Methodology
draft-pentikousis-icn-scenarios-04

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (individual)
Last updated 2014-01-16 (latest revision 2013-07-15)
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Expired
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-pentikousis-icn-scenarios-04.txt

Abstract

This document aims at establishing a common understanding about the evaluation of different information-centric networking (ICN) approaches so that they can be tested and compared against each other while showcasing their own advantages. Towards this end, we review the ICN literature and document scenarios which have been considered in previous performance evaluation studies. We discuss a variety of aspects that an ICN solution can address. This includes general aspects, such as, network efficiency, reduced complexity, increased scalability and reliability, mobility support, multicast and caching performance, real-time communication efficacy, energy consumption frugality, and disruption and delay tolerance. We detail ICN- specific aspects as well, such as information security and trust, persistence, availability, provenance, and location independence. We then survey the evaluation tools currently available to researchers in this area and provide suggestions regarding methodology and metrics. Finally, this document sheds some light on the impact of ICN on network security.

Authors

Kostas Pentikousis (k.pentikousis@huawei.com)
Börje Ohlman (Borje.Ohlman@ericsson.com)
Daniel Corujo (dcorujo@av.it.pt)
Gennaro Boggia (g.boggia@poliba.it)
Gareth Tyson (gareth.tyson@eecs.qmul.ac.uk)
Elwyn Davies (davieseb@scss.tcd.ie)
Priya Mahadevan (priya.mahadevan@parc.com)
Spiros Spirou (spis@intracom.com)
Antonella Molinaro (antonella.molinaro@unirc.it)
Dorothy Gellert (dorothy.gellert@interdigital.com)
Suyong Eum (suyong@nict.go.jp)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)