ECDHE_PSK with AES-GCM and AES-CCM Cipher Suites for Transport Layer Security (TLS)

Document Type Replaced Internet-Draft (individual)
Authors John Preuß Mattsson  , Daniel Migault 
Last updated 2016-10-20 (latest revision 2016-04-18)
Replaced by RFC 8442
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Expired & archived
pdf htmlized bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Replaced by draft-ietf-tls-ecdhe-psk-aead
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at


This document defines several new cipher suites for the Transport Layer Security (TLS) protocol. The cipher suites are all based on the Ephemeral Elliptic Curve Diffie-Hellman with Pre-Shared Key (ECDHE_PSK) key exchange together with the Authenticated Encryption with Associated Data (AEAD) algorithms AES-GCM and AES-CCM. PSK provides light and efficient authentication, ECDHE provides perfect forward secrecy, and AES-GCM and AES-CCM provides encryption and integrity protection.


John Preuß Mattsson (
Daniel Migault (

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)