Infrastructure Service Forwarding For NSH
draft-kumar-sfc-nsh-forwarding-01

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (individual)
Last updated 2017-02-20 (latest revision 2016-08-19)
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
pdf htmlized bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Expired
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-kumar-sfc-nsh-forwarding-01.txt

Abstract

This draft describes the separation of service forwarding function and service delivery function abstractions, along with the mechanics of NSH encapsulated packet forwarding with such separation, in SFC deployments. This separation frees the service functions from making forwarding decisions and the necessary control plane integration, thereby keeping the service functions simple and focused on service delivery. Further, this separation fully contains the forwarding decisions in forwarding functions, thereby allowing implementations to enforce integrity of the forwarding state carried in NSH which in turn is required for correctly forwarding NSH encapsulated packets.

Authors

Surendra Kumar (smkumar@cisco.com)
Kent Leung (kleung@cisco.com)
Peter Bosch (pbosch@cisco.com)
Dongkee Lee (dongkee.lee@sk.com)
Rajeev Manur (rmanur@broadcom.com)
Andrew Dolganow
Praveen Muley (praveen.muley@nokia.com)
Sumandra Majee (s.majee@f5.com)
Joel Halpern (joel.halpern@ericsson.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)