Adaptive Video Streaming over ICN
draft-irtf-icnrg-videostreaming-03

The information below is for an old version of the document
Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (icnrg RG)
Last updated 2015-08-29 (latest revision 2015-02-25)
Stream IRTF
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
pdf htmlized bibtex
IETF conflict review conflict-review-irtf-icnrg-videostreaming
Additional URLs
- Mailing list discussion
Stream IRTF state (None)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
Document shepherd No shepherd assigned
IESG IESG state Expired
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to icnrg-chairs@ietf.org

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-irtf-icnrg-videostreaming-03.txt

Abstract

This document considers the consequences of moving the underlying network architecture to an Information-Centric Network (ICN) architecture on video distribution. As most of the traffic in future networks is expected to be video, we consider how to modify the existing video streaming mechanisms. Several important topics related to video distribution over ICN are presented, covering a wide range of scenarios: we look at how to evolve DASH to work over ICN, and leverage the recent ISO/IEC MPEG Dynamic Adaptive Streaming over HTTP (DASH) standard; we consider layered encoding over ICN; P2P mechanisms introduce distinct requirements for video and we look at how to adapt PPSP for ICN; IPTV adds delay constraints, and this will create more stringent requirements over ICN as well. As part of the discussion on video, we discuss DRMs in ICN. Finally, in addition to consider how existing mechanisms would be impacted by ICN, this document lists some research issues to design ICN specific video streaming mechanisms.

Authors

Stefan Lederer (stefan.lederer@itec.aau.at)
Cedric Westphal (cedric.westphal@huawei.com)
Christopher Mueller (christopher.mueller@bitmovin.net)
Andrea Detti (andrea.detti@uniroma2.it)
Daniel Corujo (dcorujo@av.it.pt)
Christian Timmerer (christian.timmerer@itec.aau.at)
Daniel Posch (daniel.posch@itec.aau.at)
Aytac Azgin (aytac.azgin@huawei.com)
Sucheng Liu (liusucheng@huawei.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)