Safe increase of the TCP's Initial Window Using Initial Spreading
draft-irtf-iccrg-sallantin-initial-spreading-00

Document Type Replaced Internet-Draft (iccrg RG)
Last updated 2014-01-17 (latest revision 2014-01-15)
Replaced by draft-sallantin-iccrg-initial-spreading
Stream IRTF
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
pdf htmlized bibtex
Stream IRTF state (None)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
Document shepherd No shepherd assigned
IESG IESG state Replaced by draft-sallantin-iccrg-initial-spreading
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-irtf-iccrg-sallantin-initial-spreading-00.txt

Abstract

This document proposes a new fast start-up mechanism for TCP that can be used to speed the beginning of an Internet connection and then improved the short-lived TCP connections performance. Initial Spreading allows to safely increase the Initial Window size in any cases, and notably in congested networks. Merging the increase in the IW with the spacing of the segments belonging to the Initial Window (IW), Initial Spreading is a very simple mechanism that improves short-lived TCP flows performance and do not deteriorate long-lived TCP flows performance.

Authors

Renaud Sallantin (renaud.sallantin@gmail.com)
Cedric Baudoin (cedric.baudoin@thalesaleniaspace.com)
Fabrice Arnal (fabrice.arnal@thalesaleniaspace.com)
Emmanuel Dubois (emmanuel.dubois@cnes.fr)
Emmanuel Chaput (emmanuel.chaput@enseeiht.fr)
Andre-Luc Beylot (andre-luc.beylot@enseeiht.fr)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)