OAuth 2.0 Proof-of-Possession (PoP) Security Architecture
draft-ietf-oauth-pop-architecture-00

The information below is for an old version of the document
Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (oauth WG)
Authors Phil Hunt  , Justin Richer  , William Mills  , Prateek Mishra  , Hannes Tschofenig 
Last updated 2015-01-22 (latest revision 2014-07-21)
Replaces draft-hunt-oauth-pop-architecture
Stream Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF)
Formats
Expired & archived
pdf htmlized (tools) htmlized bibtex
Reviews
Additional Resources
- Mailing list discussion
Stream WG state WG Document
Document shepherd Derek Atkins
IESG IESG state Expired
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to "Derek Atkins" <derek@ihtfp.com>

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-ietf-oauth-pop-architecture-00.txt

Abstract

The OAuth 2.0 bearer token specification, as defined in RFC 6750, allows any party in possession of a bearer token (a "bearer") to get access to the associated resources (without demonstrating possession of a cryptographic key). To prevent misuse, bearer tokens must to be protected from disclosure in transit and at rest. Some scenarios demand additional security protection whereby a client needs to demonstrate possession of cryptographic keying material when accessing a protected resource. This document motivates the development of the OAuth 2.0 proof-of-possession security mechanism.

Authors

Phil Hunt (phil.hunt@yahoo.com)
Justin Richer (jricher@mitre.org)
William Mills (wmills@yahoo-inc.com)
Prateek Mishra (prateek.mishra@oracle.com)
Hannes Tschofenig (Hannes.Tschofenig@gmx.net)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)