Data Fields for In-situ OAM
draft-ietf-ippm-ioam-data-07

The information below is for an old version of the document
Document Type None Internet-Draft (ippm WG)
Last updated 2019-09-11 (latest revision 2019-07-04)
Replaces draft-ippm-ioam-data, draft-brockners-inband-oam-data
Stream IETF
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
pdf htmlized bibtex
Additional URLs
- Mailing list discussion
Stream WG state (None)
Document shepherd Al Morton
IESG IESG state Unknown state
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to Al Morton <acm@research.att.com>

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-ietf-ippm-ioam-data-07.txt

Abstract

In-situ Operations, Administration, and Maintenance (IOAM) records operational and telemetry information in the packet while the packet traverses a path between two points in the network. This document discusses the data fields and associated data types for in-situ OAM. In-situ OAM data fields can be embedded into a variety of transports such as NSH, Segment Routing, Geneve, native IPv6 (via extension header), or IPv4. In-situ OAM can be used to complement OAM mechanisms based on e.g. ICMP or other types of probe packets.

Authors

Frank Brockners (fbrockne@cisco.com)
Shwetha Bhandari (shwethab@cisco.com)
Carlos Pignataro (cpignata@cisco.com)
Hannes Gredler (hannes@rtbrick.com)
John Leddy (john@leddy.net)
Stephen Youell (stephen.youell@jpmorgan.com)
Tal Mizrahi (tal.mizrahi.phd@gmail.com)
David Mozes (mosesster@gmail.com)
Petr Lapukhov (petr@fb.com)
Remy Chang (unknown-email-Remy-Chang)
daniel.bernier@bell.ca (daniel.bernier@bell.ca)
John Lemon (john.lemon@broadcom.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)