BGP Optimal Route Reflection (BGP-ORR)
draft-ietf-idr-bgp-optimal-route-reflection-13

The information below is for an old version of the document
Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (idr WG)
Last updated 2017-07-17 (latest revision 2017-01-05)
Stream IETF
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
pdf htmlized bibtex
Reviews
Additional URLs
- Mailing list discussion
Stream WG state WG Document
Document shepherd Susan Hares
IESG IESG state Expired
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-ietf-idr-bgp-optimal-route-reflection-13.txt

Abstract

This document proposes a solution for BGP route reflectors to allow them to choose the best path their clients would have chosen under the same conditions, without requiring further state or any new features to be placed on the clients. This facilitates, for example, best exit point policy (hot potato routing). This solution is primarily applicable in deployments using centralized route reflectors. The solution relies upon all route reflectors learning all paths which are eligible for consideration. Best path selection is performed in each route reflector based on a configured virtual location in the IGP. The location can be the same for all clients or different per peer/update group or per peer. Best path selection can also be performed based on user configured policies in each route reflector.

Authors

Robert Raszuk (robert@raszuk.net)
Christian Cassar (ccassar@cisco.com)
Erik Aman (erik.aman@teliacompany.com)
Bruno Decraene (bruno.decraene@orange.com)
Stephane Litkowski (stephane.litkowski@orange.com)
Kevin Wang (kfwang@juniper.net)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)