Segment Routing Architecture
draft-filsfils-spring-segment-routing-04

Document Type Replaced Internet-Draft (spring WG)
Last updated 2014-10-10 (latest revision 2014-07-03)
Replaces draft-filsfils-rtgwg-segment-routing
Replaced by draft-ietf-spring-segment-routing
Stream IETF
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
pdf htmlized bibtex
Reviews
Stream WG state Adopted by a WG
Document shepherd No shepherd assigned
IESG IESG state Replaced by draft-ietf-spring-segment-routing
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-filsfils-spring-segment-routing-04.txt

Abstract

Segment Routing (SR) leverages the source routing paradigm. A node steers a packet through an ordered list of instructions, called segments. A segment can represent any instruction, topological or service-based. A segment can have a local semantic to an SR node or global within an SR domain. SR allows to enforce a flow through any topological path and service chain while maintaining per-flow state only at the ingress node to the SR domain. Segment Routing can be directly applied to the MPLS architecture with no change on the forwarding plane. A segment is encoded as an MPLS label. An ordered list of segments is encoded as a stack of labels. The segment to process is on the top of the stack. Upon completion of a segment, the related label is popped from the stack. Segment Routing can be applied to the IPv6 architecture, with a new type of routing extension header. A segment is encoded as an IPv6 address. An ordered list of segments is encoded as an ordered list of IPv6 addresses in the routing extension header. The segment to process is indicated by a pointer in the routing extension header. Upon completion of a segment, the pointer is incremented.

Authors

Clarence Filsfils (cfilsfil@cisco.com)
Stefano Previdi (sprevidi@cisco.com)
Ahmed Bashandy (bashandy@cisco.com)
Bruno Decraene (bruno.decraene@orange.com)
Stephane Litkowski (stephane.litkowski@orange.com)
Martin Horneffer (Martin.Horneffer@telekom.de)
Igor Milojevic (igormilojevic@telekom.rs)
Rob Shakir (rob.shakir@bt.com)
Saku Ytti (saku@ytti.fi)
Wim Henderickx (wim.henderickx@alcatel-lucent.com)
Jeff Tantsura (jeff.tantsura@ericsson.com)
Edward Crabbe (edc@google.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)