Proposed Structure of the IETF Administrative Organization

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (individual)
Authors Joseph Hall  , Brian Haberman  , Jari Arkko  , Leslie Daigle  , Jason Livingood  , Eric Rescorla 
Last updated 2018-10-07 (latest revision 2018-04-05)
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Expired & archived
pdf htmlized (tools) htmlized bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Expired
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at


The IETF Administrative Support Activity (IASA) was originally established in 2005. In the intervening years, the needs of the IETF have evolved in ways that require changes to its administrative structure. The IETF Chair started an effort in November of 2016 to begin the process of changing the IETF administrative structure, starting with a set of virtual workshops to get input from the IETF community, and then encompassing a series of BOF sessions at IETF meetings to define the problem, develop requirements, explore potential options for changes, and a Design Team - the authors of this document - that would make recommendations. The purpose of this document is to collect all of the various materials that have lead up to the Design Team recommendation that IETF be a Disregarded Limited Liability Company (LLC) of the Internet Society.


Joseph Hall (
Brian Haberman (
Jari Arkko (
Leslie Daigle (
Jason Livingood (
Eric Rescorla (

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)