OSPF Extensions for Dynamic Placement of Multi-Segment Pseudowires
draft-dolganow-pwe3-ospf-ms-pw-ext-03

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (individual)
Last updated 2009-04-15
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Expired
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-dolganow-pwe3-ospf-ms-pw-ext-03.txt

Abstract

Multi-segment pseudowires have been defined to enable emulated layer 1 and layer 2 services to be delivered from an IP based packet switched network over a sparse mesh of PSN tunnels and PW control protocol sessions. MS-PWs can be used to scale PW based networks over both a single AS, or between multiple ASs, and there is a particular need to be able to dynamically route MS-PWs through a given AS to reach PEs at or beyond the edge of the AS, where the route of the PW through each AS needs to be automatically determined. This draft proposes extensions to OSPF to enable the automatic advertisement of summarized PW FECs, thus enabling the dynamic routing of MS-PWs across an OSPF domain.

Authors

Matthew Bocci (matthew.bocci@alcatel-lucent.co.uk)
Dimitri Papadimitriou (dimitri.papadimitriou@alcatel-lucent.be)
Alex Zinin (azinin@cisco.com)
Mustapha Aissaoui (Mustapha.aissaoui@Alcatel-lucent.com)
Andrew Dolganow (andrew.dolganow@alcatel-lucent.com)
Yuji Kamite (y.kamite@ntt.com)
Luca Martini (lmartini@cisco.com)
Frederic JOUNAY (frederic.jounay@orange-ftgroup.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)