A multipath framework for UDP traffic over heterogeneous access networks
draft-amend-tsvwg-multipath-framework-mpdccp-01

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (individual)
Last updated 2020-01-09 (latest revision 2019-07-08)
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
pdf htmlized (tools) htmlized bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Expired
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-amend-tsvwg-multipath-framework-mpdccp-01.txt

Abstract

More and more of today's devices are multi-homing capable, in particular 3GPP user equipment like smartphones. In the current standardization of the next upcoming mobile network generation 5G Rel.16, this is especially targeted in the study group Access Traffic Steering Switching Splitting [TR23.793]. ATSSS describes the flexible selection or combination of 3GPP untrusted access like Wi-Fi and cellular access, overcoming the single-access limitation of today's devices and services. Another multi-connectivity scenario is the Hybrid Access [I-D.lhwxz-hybrid-access-network-architecture][I-D. muley-network-based-bonding-hybrid-access], providing multiple access for CPEs, which extends the traditional way of single access connectivity at home to dual-connectivity over 3GPP and fixed access. A missing piece in the ATSSS and Hybrid Access is the access and path measurement, which is required for efficient and beneficial traffic steering decisions. This becomes particularly important in heterogeneous access networks with a multitude of volatile access paths. While MP-TCP has been proposed to be used within ATSSS, there are drawbacks when being used to encapsulate unreliable traffic as it blindly retransmits each lost frame leading to excessive delay and potential head-of-line blocking. A decision for MP-TCP though leaves the increasing share of UDP in today's traffic mix (<https://arxiv.org/abs/1801.05168>) unconsidered. In this document, a multi-access framework is proposed leveraging the MP-DCCP network protocol, which enables flexible traffic steering, switching and splitting also for unreliable traffic. A benefit is the support for pluggable congestion control which enables our framework to be used either independent or complementary to MP-TCP.

Authors

Markus Amend (markus.amend@telekom.de)
Eckard Bogenfeld (eckard.bogenfeld@telekom.de)
Anna Brunstrom (anna.brunstrom@kau.se)
Andreas Kassler (andreas.kassler@kau.se)
Veselin Rakocevic (veselin.rakocevic.1@city.ac.uk)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)