NVGRE: Network Virtualization using Generic Routing Encapsulation
draft-sridharan-virtualization-nvgre-01

The information below is for an old version of the document
Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (individual)
Last updated 2013-01-09 (latest revision 2012-07-08)
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
IETF conflict review conflict-review-sridharan-virtualization-nvgre
Additional URLs
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Expired
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-sridharan-virtualization-nvgre-01.txt

Abstract

This document describes the usage of Generic Routing Encapsulation (GRE) header for Network Virtualization, called NVGRE, in multi- tenant datacenters. Network Virtualization decouples virtual networks and addresses from physical network infrastructure, providing isolation and concurrency between multiple virtual networks on the same physical network infrastructure. This document also introduces a Network Virtualization framework to illustrate the use cases, but the focus is on specifying the data plane aspect of NVGRE.

Authors

Murari Sridharan (muraris@microsoft.com)
Albert Greenberg (albert@microsoft.com)
Narasimhan Venkataramaiah (narave@microsoft.com)
Yu-Shun Wang (yushwang@microsoft.com)
Kenneth Duda (kduda@aristanetworks.com)
Ilango Ganga (ilango.s.ganga@intel.com)
Geng Lin (geng_lin@dell.com)
Mark Pearson (mark.pearson@hp.com)
Patricia Thaler (pthaler@broadcom.com)
Chait Tumuluri (chait@emulex.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)