Segment Routing interoperability with LDP
draft-filsfils-spring-segment-routing-ldp-interop-03

Document Type Replaced Internet-Draft (individual)
Last updated 2015-09-10 (latest revision 2015-03-09)
Replaced by draft-ietf-spring-segment-routing-ldp-interop
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Reviews
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Replaced by draft-ietf-spring-segment-routing-ldp-interop
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-filsfils-spring-segment-routing-ldp-interop-03.txt

Abstract

A Segment Routing (SR) node steers a packet through a controlled set of instructions, called segments, by prepending the packet with an SR header. A segment can represent any instruction, topological or service-based. SR allows to enforce a flow through any topological path and service chain while maintaining per-flow state only at the ingress node to the SR domain. The Segment Routing architecture can be directly applied to the MPLS data plane with no change in the forwarding plane. This drafts describes how Segment Routing operates in a network where LDP is deployed and in the case where SR-capable and non-SR-capable nodes coexist.

Authors

Clarence Filsfils (cfilsfil@cisco.com)
Stefano Previdi (sprevidi@cisco.com)
Ahmed Bashandy (bashandy@cisco.com)
Bruno Decraene (bruno.decraene@orange.com)
Stephane Litkowski (stephane.litkowski@orange.com)
Martin Horneffer (Martin.Horneffer@telekom.de)
Igor Milojevic (igormilojevic@telekom.rs)
Rob Shakir (rob.shakir@bt.com)
Saku Ytti (saku@ytti.fi)
Wim Henderickx (wim.henderickx@alcatel-lucent.com)
Jeff Tantsura (jeff.tantsura@ericsson.com)
Edward Crabbe (edward.crabbe@gmail.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)